This home, located at 505 Griffith Avenue, was originally contructed in 1883. The 7,000 square foot house was built for Matthew Cartwright and his wife, Mary Davenport Cartwright. Constructed of yellow pine and cypress, this home originally had no plumbing or electricity. Although it was built during the Victorian era, it is considered a traditional hybrid of Revival and Second Empires sytles. It was added to the National Registry of Historic Places in 1979.
The Sears House, located at 501 9th Street in Terrell, was built in 1910 from a kit purchased through the Sears, Roebuck & Co. catalog. Josephus Autrey built the house for his wife and five children. The house kit, which sold for $1,764, was Design No. 118 with a few modifications - dormers, an enlarged porch and a porte cochere. Sadly, Autrey died just a few years after the house was built and his family moved out soon after.
Located in the former Carnegie Library, the Terrell Heritage Museum is operated by the Terrell Heritage Society. The building itself is an important piece of local history. Built in 1904, it housed the city's public library for some 80 years.
The collection includes a 1912 Estey pipe organ from First Baptist Church. The instrument has been restored to playing condition and occupies a place of honor in the upstairs auditorium. Another religious artifact, a Torah Cupboard, bears witness to Terrell's only synagogue.
Stroll through the exhibits to learn more about early farming in the Terrell area, the latest in modern household appliances from days gone by, and a unique doll collection including an Armande Marsaille figure.
Other displays focus on memorabilia from the #1 British Flying Training School, a training facility for the Royal Air Force based at Terrell Municipal Airport during W.W.II.
The museum's collection also includes artifacts from the Midland Railroad and its illustrious owner, E.H.R. Green (son of Hetty Green the “Witch of Wall Street”).
The museum houses the Terrell Heritage Society's archives. The photographs and documents in the collection are available for historical research. More than 300 photos and paintings by local artist Hazel Slayton commemorate early Terrell buildings.
The Terrell Heritage Museum
207 North Frances St.
Hours: Saturday 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. or by appointment
Admission is free.
The No. 1 British Flying School Museum is a popular destination for World War II history buffs, aviation enthusiasts, and veterans. Visitors of all ages enjoy the museum's hands-on exhibits that explain how and why airplanes fly.
During World War II thousands of British pilots learned to fly at six civilian training schools in the United States. The first and largest of the schools was in Terrell.
After the United States entered the war, American Aviation Cadets also trained at the school. More than 2,000 Royal Air Force and American Army Air Force pilots earned their wings over North Texas between 1941 and 1945. Terrell's citizens welcomed the student pilots to their community, and many life-long bonds were forged. The museum celebrates this little known chapter of World War II history.
The museum's archives contain the most extensive record of the British Flying Training School that exists.
Visit the No. 1 British Flying Training School Museum at Terrell Municipal Airport.
The No. 1 British Flying School Museum
119 Silent Wings Dr.
Hours: Wednesday, Friday, Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.
Admission is FREE.
The private car of E.H.R. “Ned” Green, President of the Midland Railroad, is on display in Ben Gill Park.
Green was the son of the notorious “Witch of Wall Street” Hetty Green, a gilded age multi-millionaire. He was a prominent citizen of Terrell and served as state Republican Party Chairman in 1896. Green took Texas’ first gasoline-powered motorcar trip in 1899.
The collection in the rail car commemorates the rail company, once headquartered in Terrell, and its colorful president.
There are more than 27 official Texas Historical Markers in the city commemorating early churches, public buildings, people, and events important in local history. A guide (with map) to marker sites in the city is available from the Terrell Chamber of Commerce & Convention and Visitors Bureau.
The R. A. Terrell House (c.1860-65) on the campus of Southwestern Christian College was one of the city's first homes.
It was the home of city founder Robert Adams Terrell, who was a land speculator, farmer, military officer and a spy for the Republic of Texas.
The house is one of twenty surviving Round Houses in the U. S. It is both a state and national historic landmark.
The Terrell House was moved to the campus from the corner of Ann and College Streets in 1915.
R. A. Terrell House
200 Bowser Circle. (Interior not open to the public.)
The Downtown Shopping Area is part of the Terrell Historical District. The more than $4 million renovation under the Main Street Program reflects the city’s commitment to retaining the charm of yesteryear while enhancing commercial activity in the central business district.
Visit downtown for a variety of retail shops, professional offices, museums, and restaurants. Don’t miss the Heritage Museum in the old Carnegie Library and the completely restored Brin Opera House (now an office building).
Learn about the legacy of Terrell through the stories of its spirits. The two- hour walking tour is held Satuday nights at 8 pm. The Ghost Tour begins at 106 E Moore Avenue, at the historical Brin Opera House, followed by a 1/4 mile paved walk through downtown Terrell. Reservations can be made online at a discounted rate or book a private party tour. For more information, please give them a call. www.terrellghostwalk.com or 972-546-7536.
Visit nearby lakes for some of Texas’ best fishing!
The Rocking L Guest Ranch provides an authentic western town atmosphere on 75 private acres for company events, receptions, family reunions, private parties or personal getaways.
Rocking L Guest Ranch
240 VZ CR 3837,
Wills Point, TX 75169
Reunion Ranch offers everything you need for a business or social event in a beautiful country setting. The Riata Conference Center, decorated gazebo, lake, rodeo arena, and outdoor activity centers make Reunion Ranch a choice location for picnics, weddings, company team building sessions, family reunions and more.
10581 CR 312
At Tanger Outlet Center, every day is sale day at more than 40 stores. Find the best selection of brand name merchandise at unbeatable prices. Buy direct from authentic brand name outlets and save an average of 40% off retail every day.
Pick up visitor information at the Terrell Chamber of Commerce/Convention and Visitors Bureau tourism booth in the Outlet Center. Volunteers and Chamber staff provide maps and information about local attractions.
Tanger Outlet Center
I-20 at Hwy 34, Exit 501
Hours: Monday – Saturday, 9 a.m..- 9 p.m., Sunday, noon - 6 p.m.
Over the past 25 years, Ham’s Orchards has grown from a roadside peach stand to a full-scale, air-conditioned farmers market. Owners Dale and Judy Ham offer a variety of fresh produce from May 15 through August 15. Don’t miss Ham’s famous ice cream.
Ham Orchards was established in 1979 by Dale and Judy Ham. The orchard lies just east of Terrell. Ham's Orchard has grown from a roadside peach stand to a full scale, air conditioned farmer's market. Not only can you purchase fresh produce but also homemade ice cream, jelly and fudge bars. A bakery was added in 2008 and a pavillion was build in 2009 where customers can enjoy Ham's BBQ or pass the time in a rocking chair.
Today, Ham Orchards consists of 100 acres containing five orchards with approximately 10,000 peach trees and a variety of additional fruit trees. There are also two blackberry patches. One is located behind the Farm Market Store and open to the public for pick your own during blackberry haversting time.
11939 CR 309
Team roping, barrel racing, team pennings, roping school, horsemanship clinics, riding & roping lessons, and rodeos are featured events at Jerry and Raelyn Wade's 150' x 300' covered arena.
Daily or hourly leasing options include three announcer stands and catered concessions.
2102 N Trade Days BLVD
Canton, TX 75103
Memories begin with a great vacation and Mill Creek Ranch Resort is your ideal destination.
Embrace nature, leisure, first class amenities, and gracious hospitality at East Texas' best destination resort. Explore 200 tranquil acres with stocked fishing ponds, designer pools, and activities for every member of the family to enjoy. Cuddle up next to the fireplace in one of our spacious lodges or stay outdoors for volleyball, hayrides, and paddle boating. Whether you choose to visit one of our charming cottages or experience the award winning resort in your own RV, you will find a great place to relax, have fun, and create memories.
Peninsula Ranch is 550 acres of awesome natural beauty located on a secluded peninsula in the tranquiol water of Lake Tawakoni. It offers guests seven miles of distinctive shoreline, open fields of native grasses, quiet nature trails, breath-taking sunrises, and magnificent sunsets. Three of the largest pecan trees in Texas are hidden on the property.
The Ranch is a perfect destination for special getaway occasions. It has a range of flexible meeting venues and a varitey of activities to accommodate business events (conference, retreats, banquets), family celebrations (reunions, weddings, birthdays), and outdoor interests (hunting, fishing, hiking). The Ranch is open 365 days a year!
7873 FM 2101
Quinlan TX 75474